Book Haul [#3]

Image

Welcome to my second book haul of the year! These are a few books I’ve accumulated over the past 10 days that I haven’t already blogged about.  I mentioned a few of these books on my youtube channel that I started up (if any of you saw it). However, I have now deleted said video because I have decided it would be silly of me to start a booktube channel when I’m in my third year of University. Even if I managed to regularly update I wouldn’t have been able to carry it on in September as I will most likely be starting a masters degree and I will have barely any time to read never mind keep a youtube channel running. Maybe I will return to it in the future but right now it would be stupid of me.

Anyway on to the book haul!

The first book I bought was The Taming of The Shrew by William Shakespeare.

I should think people will have heard of this one. My favourite chick flick is 10 Things I Hate About You, therefore when I found out it was based on The Taming of The Shrew… I HAD TO HAVE IT.

“Renowned as Shakespeare’s most boisterous comedy, The Taming of the Shrew is the tale of two young men, the hopeful Lucentio and the worldly Petruchio, and the two sisters they meet in Padua. 
Lucentio falls in love with Bianca, the apparently ideal younger daughter of the wealthy Baptista Minola. But before they can marry, Bianca’s formidable elder sister, Katherine, must be wed. Petruchio, interested only in the huge dowry, arranges to marry Katherine -against her will- and enters into a battle of the sexes that has endured as one of Shakespeare’s most enjoyable works.”

The second book is Selected Poems 1923-1958 by E.E. Cummings.

I’ve only recently started to read poetry. I obviously studied poets like Carol Ann Duffy, Simon Armitage and Shakespeare at school, but I’ve never actually owned anything until I was 19. I always thought “oh i wont like that… i cant understand it… why would i read that… its for old people.”. I suppose its a sign of growing up for me that I have become very fond of poetry. I have a love for Sonnets, especially Shakespeare and Keats so I wanted to try out something different. I’d seen a lot of e.e. Cummings being posted on Tumblr, the post that finally did it for me was one of Tom Hiddleston doing a reading (This is a link to the audio). It convinced me to walk to Waterstones instantly and buy this.

The third book is Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest

I’ve been recommended this numerous times and I’ve never really shown any interest. I basically picked this up on a whim. Whether I will read it… who knows. I want to, I really do, but I think right now is not the right time. I don’t really know anything about it other than what’s in the blurb. Hopefully I’ll read it this year.

Tyrannical Nurse Ratched rules her ward in an Oregon State mental hospital with a strict and unbending routine, unopposed by her patients, who remain cowed by mind-numbing medication and the threat of electric shock therapy. But her regime is disrupted by the arrival of McMurphy – the swaggering, fun-loving trickster with a devilish grin who resolves to oppose her rules on behalf of his fellow inmates. His struggle is seen through the eyes of Chief Bromden, a seemingly mute half-Indian patient who understands McMurphy’s heroic attempt to do battle with the powers that keep them imprisoned. Ken Kesey’s extraordinary first novel is an exuberant, ribald and devastatingly honest portrayal of the boundaries between sanity and madness.”

The fourth book is The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank.

I should think everyone has heard of this one. I don’t think I really need to explain why I want to read it. To be honest I’m a little ashamed of myself for having not read it yet. What am I doing with my life.

“Since its publication in 1947, Anne Frank’s Diary has been read by tens of millions of people. This Definitive Edition restores substantial material omitted from the original edition, giving us a deeper insight into Anne Frank’s world. Her curiosity about her emerging sexuality, the conflicts with her mother, her passion for Peter, a boy whose family hid with hers, and her acute portraits of her fellow prisoners reveal Anne as more human, more vulnerable and more vital than ever.”

The fifth book is Blood Red Road by Moira Young.

I have actually already read this book, but I had it on my Kindle. I loved it. So much I had to buy it. A brilliant kick-ass main character and a great story. I would recommend it to anyone into dystopian young adult fiction. The romance isn’t too in-your-face or mushy its just perfect and believable.

“Saba lives in Silverlake, a wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms where her family scavenge from landfills left by the long-gone Wrecker civilization. After four cloaked horsemen kidnap her beloved twin brother Lugh, she teams up with daredevil Jack and the Free Hawks, a girl gang of Revolutionaries. 
Saba learns that she is a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Saba and her new friends stage a showdown that change the course of her civilization.”

The Sixth book is The Heritage Reader by Graham Fairclough

This book is one of my text books for my Archaeology Degree. If you’re interested in Heritage then I recommend this.

“This resource is a much-needed support to the few textbooks in the field and offers an excellent introduction and overview to the established principles and new thinking in cultural heritage management.”

The seventh book is Vampire Academy: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion.

I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS FILM! It looks like it is going to be FANTASTIC. I absolutely love who they’ve cast for the movie and I honestly can’t wait for the 19th Feb. I’ve flicked through this book already and a little disappointed that there aren’t more pictures of Danila Kozlovsky. (I kind of love him) But that doesnt matter…

Leave a comment