The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

Image

Vampire Academy is an American best-selling series of six Young-Adult Paranormal Romance novels by author Richelle Mead. It tells the story of Rose Hathaway, a seventeen/eighteen-year-old Dhampir girl, who is training to be a bodyguard for her Moroi best friend, Vasilisa “Lissa” Dragomir. In the process of learning how to defeat Strigoi (the evil undead vampires) in St. Vladimir’s Academy, Rose finds herself caught in a forbidden romance with her instructor, Dimitri Belikov, while having an unbreakable bond with Lissa
_________________________________________________________________________

Rating: ****1/2 stars

*Possible spoilers*

So, I finally decided it was a good time to read this beast of a series. 6 books, in one week. Now to me that is quite an achievement *applauds self*. Now the first Vampire Academy book came out in 2007 and the last book was released in 2010. I wonder to myself why I waited so long to read this series and I believe I must blame it on Twilight. I could kick myself in the head for this. I need to stop judging vampire books because of Twilight. But anyway, yeah, in 2007 I was one of the millions of teenage girls obsessed with the Twilight Saga and I soon grew sick of it. So I never picked up another Vampire novel until last year. But I have to say out of the “Vampire Genre” I believe that this series has to be up near the top for the most entertaining.

I’m going to start this review by looking at the characters. Rose Hathaway is a witty, extroverted, confident and beautiful main character. She is a perfect heroine and her development over the 6 books is quite extraordinary. I never felt the need to punch her in the face to knock some sense into her, like I usually do with teenage heroines. So it was refreshing to have an intelligent main character that I was still enjoying by the end of the sixth book.
The side characters were also enthralling, although I felt Lissa was a little too perfect and innocent considering the fact her and Rose were on the run for two years. I know a lot of people who love her character but I found her a little boring. However, Dimitri Belikov. Just… Give. Him. To. Me. Yeah, I found his character a little cliché but so what? He was brilliant. He was Russian. He was tall. He was hot. He likes old music and cowboy books. And you know what the best thing is? It’s that he is not perfect in fact he’s pretty normal. I find that not just in vampire books but in the majority of YA romances the male love interest is always perfect and out of this world and just plain unbelievable. This is not the case here. Furthermore, the minor characters were well formed, although I felt like some of them were just brushed aside a bit. For example Mia, we just don’t hear anything more about her after Frostbite which is a little frustrating. And I would have liked some more of Abe.

Now for the plot, I think the plot is very simple really. But it suits the story in a way. I enjoyed each book immensely. The action and the romance were evenly distributed. The dialogue was awesome. There was never a dull moment throughout all six books. HOWEVER, I have a few issues with how everything was wrapped up. Okay, I know there is a spin off series (that I haven’t read yet) that might contradict this but, I found that the ending was wrapped up way too fast. I have so many questions. What happened to Mia/Eddie/Adrian? Did they ever tell Dimitri’s family that he was no longer Strigoi (this has been plaguing my mind)?  Is Lissa queen? Just Whaaaaa? It frustrates me a little because I loved this series but this fact is stopping me from giving it the full 5 stars.

Overall, I think that if you’re undecided about whether to read this series. Just do it. What have you got to lose? I enjoyed it so much that I’m tempted to read the books again already.

Also, there are going to be films! SO excited. The first one is due to be released on Feb 14th 2014. I hope they do a good job.

3 thoughts on “The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

  1. This is my absolute favorite YA series. Since reading it, I’ve collected all of Richelle Mead’s books. I love her stories and how she twist mythology and religion in order to create them.

  2. Pingback: Favourite books of 2013 | crazypatterns

  3. Pingback: Vampire Academy: Graphic Novels 1-3 by Richelle Mead and Emma Vieceli | crazypatterns

Leave a Reply

