Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Image

 

Eighteen-year-old Celaena Sardothien is bold, daring and beautiful – the perfect seductress and the greatest assassin her world has ever known. But though she won the King’s contest and became his champion, Celaena has been granted neither her liberty nor the freedom to follow her heart. The slavery of the suffocating salt mines of Endovier that scarred her past is nothing compared to a life bound to her darkest enemy, a king whose rule is so dark and evil it is near impossible to defy. Celaena faces a choice that is tearing her heart to pieces: kill in cold blood for a man she hates, or risk sentencing those she loves to death. Celaena must decide what she will fight for: survival, love or the future of a kingdom. Because an assassin cannot have it all . . . And trying to may just destroy her.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Rating: *****

God. I have no idea what to say about this. Bloody hell. I just love this series. But I just can’t quite put my finger on why I love it so much. Throne of Glass was an amazing start to a series and I’m not going to lie but I was a little anxious about starting the second book. I won the book on a Goodreads giveaway and I received it before the book was officially out in shops but I still started it about a week after its release. I was terrified it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. 

I honestly don’t know why I worried so much. Holy cow this was good. Its just as good if not better than the first one. I think this is mainly down to how much I adore Chaol. If you’re a Dorian fan you most likely won’t like this book as much as he’s barely in it. But DAMN Chaol and Celeana in this book are incredible. I don’t think I’ve ever fan-girled so much over a book before (that’s a lie my Twilight phase… was rather… well lets just not go there.). 

The book is very well written and I honestly had a lot of trouble in putting it down. I’ve put off writing this review because I couldn’t find any criticism of the book other than the plot at the end there. Grrr. But I have accepted it and I just can’t wait to see what happens in the rest of the books. I just can’t believe I have to wait another year.

One thought on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Favourite books of 2013 | crazypatterns

Leave a Reply

